One Sheep, Two Sheep . . .

Checking In

07/31/2024
topic: life update, video games

Hello! I have not made an entry in a long time, and that is because I have been very busy. I got a part-time job now, which I really had trouble adjusting to at first, but am doing okay now. It's nothing crazy, just fast food. I was really overwhelmed originally and had a breakdown but I got over it lol. It's not that bad honestly, and with minimum wage being a hefty amount nowadays, I am making pretty decent money. Well, decent enough for a start, anyway. Though I fear I now have an addiction to online shopping… I just want to buy more clothes. But that's mainly because all the clothes I have are ugly and from my… older phases of fashion. I like grunge, y2k, and gothic styles now and I have nothing good for that style so I kinda have to build a whole new wardrobe for myself.

In terms of site updates, I have to report absolute jack shit. I ain't done nothing. I have a lot of plans to update like the about page, the projects page, shrines, and a bunch of other pages. The about page looked good… Until I looked at it on mobile, so now I have to redo it. I can't tell what they look like on mobile until I actually publish it onto Neocities, as the code editor I use doesn't have an accurate view of what it would look like on a mobile device. I should probably find a different code editor but meh. I mean, I literally used to just use the Neocities HTML editor when I first made this site, so you could literally watch me edit the site in real time lmao.

Besides that crap, I guess I can update my video games. I've been playing Zenless Zone Zero, which I was really skeptical of at first because it seemed really like a short and small game. I figured the combat would be decent, but that's mainly because it's a hack and slash, and they added elements like parrying and stuff since Wuthering Waves was a known competitor (they literally added the mechanic on release, iirc). But there's actually a LOT of content. Like a crazy amount. I thought it would be so much shorter than it actually is. There's so much story content that is very well written and interesting imo. The characters are pretty diverse in playstyles as well as personality.

There is a ton of content besides story as well, especially weeklies and events. The weeklies are similar to Star Rail's, where it's multiple stages across different levels, and such. And it's surprisingly hard content! The game is definitely more like Honkai Impact 3rd than it is Genshin or any other game of Hoyo's. It's actually been extremely enjoyable for a hack and slash game, though they definitely could add a lot of quality of life features to make out of combat stuff more enjoyable.

My first S Rank was actually the character I wanted: Koleda! The second one I got was Nekomata’s W-Engine, sadly, instead of an actual character. I was really hoping for Soldier 11 so I could have Koleda, Ben, and Soldier 11 as a fire team. Guess I have to get Nekomata now though since I got her W-Engine. As for limited characters, I didn't roll on Ellen or Zhu Yan. I might roll for Jane Doe, but it's TBD. I really want the virtual idol girls, but they're not up for a while yet. I might skip Jane Doe as well for the samurai kitsune girl, (Harumasa? Something like that) since she looks really good and I have Soukaku and her W-Engine. Time will tell.

In Wuthering Waves, I'm waiting (not so) patiently for the next patch. There are rumors saying Xiangli Yao (if any of these names are wrong/spelled differently, it's because I'm not about to do research) will be free, so that's good for me since I'll have a free lightning DPS unit for a third team. If not, no worries. I'm skipping his banner for the 2nd phase, which will have Zhezhi! I need her. Not only because of her cute design, but she is mainly made to be a sub dps/support unit for Jinhsi, who is my main dmg dealer currently. I still need to figure out my teams, as even if Xiangli Yao is free, I don't really have anyone to use him with. Maybe Mortefi? Yuanwu? Taoqi? I dunno. I don't have Yinlin.

I've also been heavily lacking on playing Star Rail. Back when I took a month or so hiatus from the game was when Penacony released, so I actually have yet to complete that storyline, so I'm really behind in the story. I did some of it but there's just so many games I play and now I'm working so there's not really any time. The story is also a bit uninteresting to me at this current point, so I've also been putting it off because of that. Not to mention that I need to prioritize ZZZ story right now because I'm behind and there are events that you have to be a certain part in the story to do and they end in less than a week and AAAHHH. Stressed.

I'd like to do a blog about a ZZZ review, but a part of me doesn't want to say that as I did the same with Wuthering Waves and still have yet to complete that review. I have it like 80% complete in my drafts but never finished it and now the game has been out for just about two months. Not to mention I'm just slow in general and procrastinate everything so I'm worried that when I finally complete ZZZ's story content the game will be months old and therefore making a review would be irrelevant and a waste of time. But then again… I doubt people read my blogs anyway, so shouldn't I make them for my own enjoyment, even if it's late to the party?

That answer depends on whether or not I feel productive enough to make it, I guess.


Back to Top

Wuthering Waves

06/03/2024
topic: wuthering waves, video games, anime

Hello hello! It's about time for a blog update! I (literally right now as of writing this) updated the blog! It's now divided into diary pages (what this is) and blog pages which will just be posts about, well, anything I want, really. Though I'm sure you can imagine that it'll be mostly video games and anime posts/reviews. They'll be mostly opinionated, as everything is an opinion if we really think about it, so not everyone might agree with the things I say in my posts, and that's okay. I'm kind of an airhead, so I can't promise my posts will be anywhere near cohesive or organized. I feel like I do a good job on my diary entries, but sometimes I still go off the rails lol.

Speaking of rails, I'll be rolling for Boothill later today in Star Rail! I was originally gonna get Firefly, but I was quite disappointed after seeing her animations. Her as a character is cool, but I honestly dislike the mech. I'm not a fan of heavily armored characters. I prefer more casual designs like Silver Wolf, Fu Xuan, Lynx, and the like, though that's just my preference. I've noticed that I do this in all Gacha games; if I dislike the character design, I won't pull for the character, no matter how OP they are. Everyone pulled for Lin for Tower of Fantasy because she was OP (actually was lol) but I refused simply because I thought her character/character design was bland. So, I've decided to go for Boothill instead since he’s a cool space cowboy! I could use a Physical DPS anyway.

So, the biggest news is that I've been playing Wuthering Waves. You can already see that I plan on writing a review for the game, so I won't go into specifics here, besides my current enjoyment. I've been loving this game. I played it the second it was released, despite not having slept. I was tired af but got on and began the game. I personally didn't have any lag issues, though that is a problem for others. Combined with the pre-reg rewards, in-game rewards, and any additional compensation they gave us, I quickly got my first 5-star character: Jianxin! I had my eye on her from CBT, so I wasn't disappointed when I got her, though the character I really wanted was Encore. I chose her for my picked banner, but it took me the full 80 pulls before I got her, unfortunately. Soft pity hates me. Then I used my free selector on Verina since she's an amazing support. As you can see, Encore is my favorite, and the diary is themed after her! :D

I've been running a team comp of Encore, Sanhua, and Verina. For my playstyle of Encore, I prefer Sanhua, as her outro buff gives a Basic Attack DMG buff, whereas Mortefi gives a Heavy Attack DMG buff, and I feel like it fits her playstyle better. You get her heavy attack quick, yes, but 90% of the time I'm staying on the field with her and basic attacking and using her skill. Compared to both of these, her heavy attack is just for when you're gonna switch off her. So ideally the rotation would be Verina first since her outro buff gives all characters a 15% All-Type DMG bonus for 30s, so you could then switch to Sanhua, use her stuff, and then switch off to Encore, who now has the remaining 15% DMG bonus from Verina and also Sanhua’s 38% Basic Attack bonus, giving a lot of extra DMG to her.

I will be skipping Jiyan (not my playstyle) and Yinlin (not needed as I don't use Calcharo), and will be saving for Jinhsi! I have a type and it shows. My favorite from Genshin was Kokomi, from Star Rail it's Fu Xua, and now Jinhsi from WuWa. They're not all the same obviously, but they share some similarities, like all are beautiful princesses! Or similar to princesses lol. Idk, apparently I really like that character type. What got me hooked on Jinhsi’s character design is mainly the white eyelashes. No game does it! Every character with white hair always has black eyelashes, I love white eyelashes on characters! Her hair as well, I love the loopy hair! Her personality is also enjoyable to me—the strong, calm, intelligent, kind person in power who is hardworking. Her design is very elegant and I love elegant characters with softer/pastel color schemes.

After Jinhsi, I'm not sure. Most likely the girl that's seen with Scar as I quite like her design as well. I would say yes on Scar, but I want to see his gameplay first; though if his banner is after hers I probably won't get him anyway lol. I'm curious to see how long it will take them to get reruns, I estimate at least 3-5 months. So if I miss out on a character I want later on down the line I'll always have a chance to get them or their weapon if I missed it the first time. I'm curious to see the future of Wuthering Waves in general.

That's all. I'll add an update to the homepage when I publish those blog posts. See ya for now! ♡

Encore counting her chests lol


Back to Top

Ragnarok Zeta

04/27/2024
topic: final fantasy xiv, video games, anime

Hello! As you can see, I redid the layout of almost all the pages of the site. Using repth's layouts on the home and blog pages! And I might use another one of their layouts for the gallery index page. Doing a Cardcaptor Sakura theme as I've recently been binge watching it. It's so cute! It's similar to Sailor Moon, but honestly, I like the atmosphere of Sakura and her personality better. She's less hotheaded and aloof than Usagi and the side characters are enjoyable. The plot actually seems to be more intricate as you question some of the things and aren't sure the answer. In Sailor Moon, the answers to questionable things are pretty obvious lol.

In other news, guess what I got! Well, I got it a while back, I haven't blogged about it yet. I got my Zodiac weapon for Warrior! Ragnarok Zeta! It's fucking beautiful. The best warrior weapon by far imo. A lot of the axes are either simple, ugly, or too big/small. This one actually has an amazing glow, perfect size, and it's dyeable!

I also have some screenshots of my girl in the Dawntrail benchmark. They did AMAZING on Au Ra horns! Look at the beautiful textures on them! Au Ra got the best texture updates hands dowm. A lot of people are complaining about the softer shadows and the lifeless eyes. While I can agree with the lifeless eyes (I like having permanent lights in the eyes), we can't judge until we get in game with the update. The softer shadows/brightness is likely because there's no option to change the gamma in the benchmark. My main issue was just that my character's black hair looked more dark grey, but the gamma should be the main culprit of that (hopefully). But due to everyone complaining, they said they'd update the benchmark. I think the lighting definitely needs updated in there. The Limsa Lominsa enviornment I wish would they change completely tbh... It's just a hill and a tree and the grass puts a gross green lighting effect on the character's skin that's especially noiceable on pale characters. Here are the only screenshots I took of the actual benchmark lol.

Can I also just mention how beautiful that weapon looks?

For the last recent news, I've been playing a lot of Dragon Age: Origins! I really enjoy the game so far. Though I wish I had gotten it from EA rather than Steam since a lot of reviews mentioned that it crashes quite often. I've had about 3-4 crashes in about 8-ish hours of playtime. But it's a quick restart, I suppose. It also took me a while to get some mods going... the hairstyles/hair color/override mods are easy enough, but for a lot of he armor ones, I found that they don't all work. I found one that did though! The mage needs it desperately. I was tired of wearings condoms as robes. Here is my character! I'm playing a human mage for my first playthrough. Wanna do an elf next, probably a thief. And yeah... I may have gotten a bisexual mod to romance Morrigan. Do you blame me?


Back to Top

The Cat Returns

02/24/2024
topic: movies, video games

Hello again. So, I watched the Cat Returns. It was good but... had nothing to do with Whisper of the Heart lmfao. Nothing about Louise or anything really related to the first movie besides just the Baron being in it. I guess it's an alternative universe type thing? It wasn't written by Hayao Miyazaki like Whisper of the Heart was. It was really cute though. I mean, I do just love cats in general, so the movie was pretty enjoyable for me, even if no questions were answered from the first movie. I looked on message boards and a lot of people seem to believe that Louise died during the war, which was something that crossed my mind too. I was hoping they'd go more into it though, as just leaving it primarily a mystery is pretty sad. Muta carried the movie though.

In other recent news, I started playing Paladins again. I used to play it every day back when I was in middle school/early high school years. I played it when it was still in open beta since my dad and his friends found it and had me try it out with them. I miss the OG Paladins, mainly when Cassie still had her bow instead of that crossbow... I was always a Maeve main. Love her and her playstyle. I like speedy characters a lot. My favorites are Maeve, Cassie, Evie, Ying, Io, and now Rei. Vora is cool too. I hate playing tank, not my playstyle at all.

I've always been watching more Gintama again! I LOVE Gintama. It's honestly becoming one of my favorite animes. It's comedy is fucking peak, even though a lot of it is Japanese comedy (I watch it in subs, so no clue if dub is any different). Gintama, Asobi Asobase, and Nichijou are best anime comedies. Haven't seen Lucky Star, but I want to. Gintama is just so good honestly. I love Kagura with a passion, she's like my spirit animal. Oh, I also watched Equilibrium for the first time! An amazing movie, loved it a lot. You can expect to see it added to my move list in the media page soon. My dad and I are going to watch V for Vendetta next, as I also have never seen it. I have also started watching the Rookie with one of my friends. I was skeptical since Castle was... well, garbage IMO. Nathan Fillion was amazing in Firefly but I thought Castle was horrible. Honestly, I think Nathan Fillion acts well, it's just his character and Beckett's that I dislike. Just something about the way they wrote their personalities is terrible to me. But the Rookie is actually amazing! Also, was it just me or is his name John Nolan like a reference to Defiance's Joshua Nolan? Maybe it's unintentional, but that was the first thing I thought of. Defiance was another amazing sci-fi that sadly got cancelled. I watched that show when it first came out when I was just a kid. I remember being amazed at how close it was to where I lived since it was filmed in St. Louis.

Remember when I mentioned I was playing Sims 4 again? I recently made a new sim (I know, I know) and she's beautiful. I named her Fiona. She's probably my favorite sim yet. She was inspired a lot by Heather from Vampire: The Masquerade — Bloodlines (and just VTMB in general). I'll add her whole photo album into my gallery page at some point. I have a lot of Sims that I'd like to show off eventually. I could also do CAS videos maybe. The next sim I want to make is Jeanette from VTMB. I found a tumblr post with all her CC and stuff. I'll probably do that tomorrow.


Back to Top